Jonathan Maberry

Kagen the Damned

Kagen the Damned

Kagen the Damned  


Kagen the Damned marks the first installment of an exciting new series of dark epic fantasy novels from bestselling author Jonathan Maberry….

Sworn by Oath

Kagen Vale is the trusted and feared captain of the place guard, charged with protection the royal children of the Silver Empire. But one night, Kagen is drugged and the entire imperial family is killed, leaving the empire in ruins.

Abandoned by the Gods

Haunted and broken, Kagen is abandoned by his gods and damned forever. He becomes a wanderer, trying to take down as many of this enemies as possible while plotting to assassinate the usurper –the deadly Witch-king of Hakkia. While all around him magic –look banished from the world—returns in strange and terrifying ways.

Fueled by Rage

To find the royal children and exact his vengeance, Kagen must venture into strange lands, battle bizarre and terrifying creatures, and gather allies for a suicide mission into the heart of the Witch-king’s empire.  

Kings and gods will fear him.

Kagen the Damned

Release Date: May 10th, 2022

Pre-order from your favorite Indie Bookstore
Pre-order from Mysterious Galaxy
Pre-order from Amazon
Pre-order from Barnes & Noble

"Mr. Maberry’s first venture into Sword and Sorcery fiction employs powerful imagery to tell a classic tale of revenge and blood which fans of Howard, Moore and Wagner will relish! As his own story grows deeper and more complex, Kagen of Argentium discovers the bizarre answers to more than one mystery. He fights with magnificent skill and fury to restore an empire, unearth the secrets of unimaginably ancient peoples and discover the horrifying truth behind his family’s betrayal. Maberry gradually expands his story until it flows beyond the borders of his chosen genre to create something rich and original. If you hunger for more George Martin, this novel will thoroughly satisfy you. And if you love Lovecraft, you’re in for something very special!" —Michael Moorcock, World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Award–winner

“Jonathan Maberry’s sojourn into fantasy with Kagen the Damned is a bawdy, brutal, swashbuckling start to a magnificent epic in the making. It’s sword & sorcery the way I like it: violent, bloody, but with beautiful awe-inspiring moments of wonder. So buckle on your own sword and join Kagen on this grand adventure. You won’t be disappointed.” —James Rollins, #1 New York Timesbestseller of The Last Odyssey

“Jonathan Maberry is definitely channeling Robert E. Howard, H.P. Lovecraft, and L. Sprague De Camp—this is a great novel with sharp swords, elder gods, mythical cities, and heroes who will become legends.” —Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Dune: House Atreides and Spine of the Dragon.


"Kagen the Damned is the best sword and sorcery book I have read in the last ten years. Fans of Joe Ambercrombie, Pat Rothfuss, Mark Lawrence, and Robert E. Howard are going to love this." —Weston Ochse, author of Seal Team 666

"A gloriously nuanced, exceptionally brutal epic fantasy crossed with cosmic horror that manages to mine new material out of very familiar space. It's fresh, thoughtful, beautiful, awful, fresh and very, very welcome. " —Seanan McGuire, New York Timesbestselling author

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

Copyright Jonathan Maberry, LLC. Site design by John Langan. Author Photographs by Sara Jo West.

 

left
Loading...
right
Loading...