Jonathan Maberry

Scary Out There 


Multiple Bram Stoker Award–winning author Jonathan Maberry compiles more than twenty stories and poems—written by members of the Horror Writers Association—in this terrifying collection about our worst fears.

What scares you? Things that go bump in the night? Being irreversibly different? A brutal early death? The unknown?

This collection contains stories and poetry by renowned writers—all members of the Horror Writers Association—about what they fear most. These spooky stories include mermaids, ghosts, and personal demons, and are edited by Jonathan Maberry, multiple Bram Stoker award winner and author of the Rot & Ruin series. 

The contributors: 

  • Brenna Yovanoff is the author of FIENDISH, PAPER VALENTINE, THE SPACE BE-TWEEN, and the New York times bestseller THE REPLACEMENT.
  • Carrie Ryan is the New York Times bestselling author of THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH.
  • Cherie Priest is the author of more than a dozen novels, including the award-winning CLOCKWORK CENTURY series from Tor, the CHESHIRE RED books from Bantam Spectra, and MAPLECROFT – book one of the BORDEN DISPATCHES – from Roc.
  • Christopher Golden is a #1 New York Times bestselling author, Bram Stoker Award® winner, comic book writer, screenwriter and anthology editor.
  • Ellen Hopkins is the New York Times bestselling author of several verse novels exposing teen-age struggles such as drug addiction, mental illness and prostitution, including CRANK, BURNED, IM-PULSE, GLASS and others.
  • Ilsa J. Bick is a child psychiatrist, film scholar, unrepentant Trekker, former Air Force major and now a multiple award winning, critically acclaimed bestselling YA author.
  • Jade Shames is an acclaimed writer, composer, and the grand prize winner of the 2013 Fresh Voices screenplay competition.
  • Josh Malerman, celebrated author of The Bird Box.
  • Kendare Blake is the bestselling author of ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD and THE GOD-DESS WAR.
  • Linda D Addison is an award-winning author of four collections of poetry and prose and the first African-American recipient of the HWA Bram Stoker Award®.
  • Lucy A. Snyder is a Bram Stoker Award® winning poet and Black Quill Award winning short story writer.
  • Madeleine Roux is the New York Times bestselling author of ASYLUM.
  • Marge Simon is a Bram Stoker Award® winning poet and artist.
  • Nancy Holder is a New York Times bestseller, multiple award winning author (including five Bram Stoker Awards®) , Young Adult Pioneer Award from RT Booklovers, appearances on NYPL Stuff for the Teen Age, ALA, and ARA lists; author and editor for comic book, pulp fiction and anthologies.
  • NEAL SHUSTERMAN is the New York Times bestselling author and winner of the National Book Award.
  • RL STINE the #1 international bestselling author of hundreds of children’s books including the GOOSEBUMPS, FEAR STREET and THE NIGHTMARE ROOM series.
  • RACHEL CAINE is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, producer and screen-writer.
  • RACHEL TAFOYA is the author of the debut YA novel THE NIGHT HOUSE and teaches the Experimental Writing for Teens class.
  • STEVE RASNIC TEM is a Bram Stoker Award and World Fantasy Award-winning author, poet and short story writer.
  • Tim Waggoner is a Shirley Jackson Award finalist, a creative writing teacher as well as a prolific author of horror and dark fantasy.

Copyright Jonathan Maberry, LLC. Site design by John Langan. Author Photographs by Sara Jo West.